Albums to watch


David Gray


Double album from the English singer-songwriter consisting of eleven new songs plus eight previously unreleased tracks

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
  1. 7.0 |   Independent on Sunday

    It's unlikely to repeat White Ladder's success, but the relief of not having to try to write another "Babylon" is tangible
    Read Review

  2. 6.0 |   Mojo

    His world-weary timbre remains the focus. Print edition only

  3. 6.0 |   Q

    He's getting more interesting with each release. Print edition only

  4. 6.0 |   PopMatters

    David Gray’s self-loathing moment of pure, unabashed misery
    Read Review

  5. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    Sounds as if Gray is alone with his guitar in the wee hours, whispering into a handy microphone. But if we've heard it all before, it doesn't mean Foundling isn't high-quality adult-pop
    Read Review

  6. 6.0 |   The Irish Times

    It sounds like Gray is still trying to find the right balance between reliability, originality and commerciality; this is a solid enough compromise
    Read Review

  7. 6.0 |   Evening Standard

    Foundling is not without its highlights: the folksy skip of Only The Wine nods at Bob Dylan, while When I Was in Your Heart is as strange and seductive as he's sounded in years
    Read Review

  8. 6.0 |   Daily Telegraph

    Understated arrangements focus attention on his charcoal-toned voice and thoughtful lyrics
    Read Review

  9. 6.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    Half of it sounds like Paul Weller's Wild Wood. But, and this is the truth of the album, it's all very well done for what it is
    Read Review

  10. 4.0 |   The Independent

    The most satisfying track is the simplest, "Forgetting", whose spare piano chords conceal the best line, about "your smiles at the wake and your tears at the wedding"; otherwise, it's fairly grim going
    Read Review

  11. 4.0 |   music OMH

    He does what he does very well, and fans will buy Foundling in droves. For anyone else though, this is pretty hard going
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

David Gray: Foundling

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. Only The Wine £0.99
  • 2. Foundling £0.99
  • 3. Forgetting £0.99
  • 4. Gossamer Thread £0.99
  • 5. The Old Chair £0.99
  • 6. In God's Name £0.99
  • 7. We Could Fall In Love Again Tonight £0.99
  • 8. Holding On £0.99
  • 9. When I Was In Your Heart £0.99
  • 10. A New Day at Midnight £0.99
  • 11. Davey Jones' Locker £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews