Albums to watch

The Golden Age of Apocalypse


The Golden Age of Apocalypse

Electro-jazz fusion on the debut solo album from onetime Suicidal Tendencies bassist Stephen Bruner

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.0 |   The Quietus

    Whether dropping heavy slabs of future jazz or multi layered slices of fusion the musicianship here is simply stunning
    Read Review

  2. 9.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Equal parts futuristic space jazz fusion and hip-hop that does well to bridge the seemingly disparate corners of Thundercat’s sprawling resume
    Read Review

  3. 9.0 |   Blurt

    A musician's musician in every sense of the word
    Read Review

  4. 8.1 |   Pitchfork

    Approach Apocalypse as instrumental head-trip, albeit one that's occasionally got tunes you can hum
    Read Review

  5. 8.0 |   Rave Magazine

    An intriguing listen at first, TGAOTA is a fine debut effort that expands the boundaries of both modern jazz and hip hop
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   No Ripcord

    A relaxing yet thrilling ride through a laid back funk universe. It’s been a pretty solid year for electronic music thus far, and this comfortably sits with the best
    Read Review

  7. 8.0 |   BBC

    No moment is quite like the last. Before the listener knows it, Thundercat deposits them into soft clouds of Fender magnificence, tickles heels with indulgent guitar and soothes brows with an angelic choir or two
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   musicOMH

    What most characterises this brilliant album is not doom-and-gloom prophecies but rather a sense of luxuriating in the wide parameters of this music - it’s a sensory and visionary experience
    Read Review

  9. 7.8 |   Beats Per Minute

    A great album that shows Bruner utilizing all of his bass wizardry
    Read Review

  10. 7.0 |   DIY

    There are plenty of warm synths and bass effects that makes it feel like he’s reaching through the speakers to give you a hug
    Read Review

  11. 7.0 |   Spin

    Offering a vision more golden age than apocalypse, Thundercat's music sparkles, and the effect is both lovely ?and overwhelming
    Read Review

  12. 7.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    There’s a completely unique blend of textures and a desire for musical experimentation running through the bloodstream of The Golden Age of Apocalypse
    Read Review

  13. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    His mellifluous style ebbs and flows without ever letting go of the groove
    Read Review

  14. 6.0 |   The Digital Fix

    If you’re familiar with the experimental jazz fusion of 70s Miles Davis or Weather Report, there will be few surprises here
    Read Review

  15. 6.0 |   The Irish Times

    A slick, warm and evocative homage to 1970s jazz fusion, a sound and genre that was always destined for a redo at some stage
    Read Review

  16. 6.0 |   Slant Magazine

    A little muscle, and maybe even a little heavy-metal menace, would have balanced the album out nicely
    Read Review

  17. 6.0 |   Q

    Print edition only

  18. 6.0 |   Bowlegs

    The Golden Age of Apocalypse is out of time in 2011, but deserves investigation by Flying Lotus’ burgeoning fanbase
    Read Review

  19. 4.0 |   The Skinny

    The Golden Age Of Apocalypse has an astral futuristic theme, but perplexingly sounds rather dated
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Thundercat: The Golden Age of Apocalypse

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. HooooooO £0.99
  • 2. Daylight £0.99
  • 3. Fleer Ultra £0.99
  • 4. Is It Love? £0.99
  • 5. For Love (I Come Your Friend) £0.99
  • 6. It Really Doesn't Matter to You £0.99
  • 7. Jamboree £0.99
  • 8. Boat Cruise £0.99
  • 9. Seasons £0.99
  • 10. Goldenboy £0.99
  • 11. Walkin' £0.99
  • 12. Mystery Machine (The Golden Age of Apocalypse) £0.99
  • 13. Return to the Journey £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews