Albums to watch

Born Villain

Marilyn Manson

Born Villain

Eighth album of industrial goth rock from 43 year old Brian Warner and his band

ADM rating[?]


Cooking Vinyl
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 10.0 |   Independent on Sunday

    Something approaching the "stunning return to form" of rock-crit cliché
    Read Review

  2. 6.0 |   The Scotsman

    You cannot deny Manson’s ability to deliver the gothic goodies time after time
    Read Review

  3. 6.0 |   NME

    There’s just a lack of magic, a lack of something special going on. It’s not bad. It’s not good
    Read Review

  4. 6.0 |   Rave Magazine

    The album reverberates with the heavy clank of ‘80s proto-industrial outfits like Killing Joke and Ministry
    Read Review

  5. 5.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Manson is reverting to his roots as a means for survival, not progress
    Read Review

  6. 5.0 |   FasterLouder

    Whilst there are enough moments on this record to make it worthy of a few spins, it seems like ultimately Marilyn Manson has had enough
    Read Review

  7. 4.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    Like those other contentious reactionaries Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan, Marilyn Manson is no longer a figure of hatred but a figure of pity
    Read Review

  8. 4.0 |   PopMatters

    A garish and empty symbol of his rock star status. It’s not brutal and it’s definitely not villainous
    Read Review

  9. 4.0 |   The Skinny

    Second-hand riffs, unintentionally camp vocals and sampled drum hits
    Read Review

  10. 4.0 |   The Arts Desk

    As a general rule, when the singer is adopting his strangled David Bowie imitation and the bass is leading, all is well, but when he steps into death metal growling and the bludgeoning guitars arrive, things grow more predictable
    Read Review

  11. 2.0 |   The Independent

    It's striking how static Manson's career has been: he started out hating pretty much everything, and stayed that way
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Marilyn Manson: Born Villain

  • Download full album for just £7.49
  • 1. Hey, Cruel World £0.79
  • 2. No Reflection £0.79
  • 3. Pistol Whipped £0.79
  • 4. Overneath the Path of Misery £0.79
  • 5. Slo-Mo-Tion £0.79
  • 6. The Gardener £0.79
  • 7. The Flowers of Evil £0.79
  • 8. Children of Cain £0.79
  • 9. Disengaged £0.79
  • 10. Lay Down Your Goddamn Arms £0.79
  • 11. Murderers Are Getting Prettier Every Day £0.79
  • 12. Born Villain £0.79
  • 13. Breaking the Same Old Ground £0.79
  • 14. You're So Vain £0.79
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews