Albums to watch




Debut album of alt-pop from Brooklyn-based couple Devon Church and Aleksa Palladino

ADM rating[?]


Secretly Canadian
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 8.5 |   Bowlegs

    I can’t state strongly enough the destructive beauty of what might be the most affecting debut of the year – and then some
    Read Review

  2. 8.3 |   Beats Per Minute

    With Passage, Exitmusic has turned in one of the more ambitious, evocative, and engaging efforts of 2012
    Read Review

  3. 8.0 |   music OMH

    This is less exit music for a film but more the soundtrack for a big-screen epic about the world's end
    Read Review

  4. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Passage is no picnic, more an eviscerating rite of passage. Print edition only

  5. 8.0 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    A bold, revealing album that stands as a self-assured sonic announcement of Palladino and Church’s grand arrival on the modern music scene
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   Loud And Quiet

    By turns fiery and reflective, this is a superb debut
    Read Review

  7. 7.6 |   Pitchfork

    It's audacious and ambitious, twisting lyrics about depravity and loneliness into shared anthems meant for overcoming both
    Read Review

  8. 7.5 |   All Music

    An impressive debut, Passage has as many great moments as it does moments that suggest future greatness
    Read Review

  9. 7.0 |

    An impressively conceived and at times brutally brilliant collection of songs
    Read Review

  10. 7.0 |   Sputnik Music (staff)

    Solid debut from a band which looks poised to make waves in the independent music scene for years to come
    Read Review

  11. 7.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    Passage is endearing, with unforgettable peaks; it looks beautiful at first glance, and has no shortage of beautiful moments, but don’t delve too deeply lest the mirage of a grandiose masterpiece dissolve
    Read Review

  12. 7.0 |   NME

    For all its bleak, dark fissures, bright and tender lights serenely burst out with hope
    Read Review

  13. 5.5 |   Prefix

    Most of these songs would make for a devastating end to an emotionally charged, disturbed album. But ten songs like that in a row?
    Read Review

  14. 5.0 |   PopMatters

    It’s a huge sound, but it doesn’t reach out to you so much as it wraps itself around the players, insulating them, keeping them at a distance from us and from where it is they’d like this music to go
    Read Review

  15. 5.0 |   Rave Magazine

    While it’s easy to be impressed by the emotion carried in the vocals, Passage does tend to blur into a haze of too-similar, slow-moving tracks
    Read Review

  16. 4.5 |   Tone Deaf

    Strip away the fug of atmospherics and there’s little to dress up the weak songwriting at the heart of their brooding compositions, leaving merely the picked-at skeleton of greater bands
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Exitmusic: Passage

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. Passage £0.99
  • 2. The Night £0.99
  • 3. The City £0.99
  • 4. White Noise £0.99
  • 5. Storms £0.99
  • 6. The Wanting £0.99
  • 7. Stars £0.99
  • 8. The Modern Age £0.99
  • 9. The Cold £0.99
  • 10. Sparks of Light £0.99
  • 11. Digital Booklet - Passage N/A
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews