Albums to watch

The Plot Against Common Sense

Future Of The Left

The Plot Against Common Sense

Third album of acerbic hardcore alt.rock from the Cardiff band led by Andy Falkous

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 9.1 |   A.V. Club

    The sort of aggressive, pop-indebted hard rock that’s hard to come by at the moment
    Read Review

  2. 9.0 |   Sputnik Music (staff)

    Forget your black metal and all that other bombastic crap, THIS is the real soundtrack to the apocalypse. It’s one that we’re all gratefully sliding towards slowly and perpetually
    Read Review

  3. 9.0 |   Rave Magazine

    A smart gamble, showing a band willing to explore new territories while maintaining enough ‘old shit’ appeal for their existing fan base
    Read Review

  4. 9.0 |   AU Review

    A snapshot of the underbelly of British urban life in 2012 equally – almost perfectly – expressed via wonky frivolity and hard-set seriousness. Heck, let’s go one further: it‘s British album of the year (so far)
    Read Review

  5. 9.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    This is Future of the Left's finest hour so far, no doubt, but I am certain that the best is yet to come as this monster continues to evolve
    Read Review

  6. 9.0 |   NME

    The Cardiff group continue to have the practice of synthed-up, earwormy postpunk archness locked down
    Read Review

  7. 9.0 |   DIY

    It’s an odd thing to say about a band quite as aggressive about their outsider status, but it’s entirely possible that by proving they can make anything their own, they’ve become one of Britain’s best bands
    Read Review

  8. 9.0 |   musicOMH

    Listening to this album, it's amazing to think that Future Of The Left was hanging in the balance a couple of years ago. From that brief moment of uncertainty they've gone and made the most rewarding album of their career to date
    Read Review

  9. 8.5 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    There’s always something to pin you to the wall through sonic ferocity, always the promise of something angular suddenly making its distorted presence felt, always something intriguing in the sentiments, always righteous ire and splenetic, often absurd acerbicity
    Read Review

  10. 8.2 |   Beats Per Minute

    The tunes are catchy as hell, too. The new line-up allows the group off the leash, lithely turning their hand to some groovier offerings
    Read Review

  11. 8.0 |   All Music

    Shows that Future of the Left are still fighting the good fight, even if the ranks have changed a bit
    Read Review

  12. 8.0 |   The Skinny

    Ever askew, their intelligence and fiery passion is invigorating, volatile and essential
    Read Review

  13. 8.0 |   BBC

    Subversion of the most intelligent, insidious, inventive kind
    Read Review

  14. 8.0 |   Q

    It's big and clever; also bloody brilliant. Print edition only

  15. 7.0 |   Spin

    Irascible ex-Mclusky noise-punks take Biafra-brand graters to the thumbs of suckers
    Read Review

  16. 7.0 |   PopMatters

    You won’t mistake it for anyone else’s, and an artist as singular as Falkous always deserves our attention
    Read Review

  17. 7.0 |   No Ripcord

    It could do with one or two songs being trimmed, but there’s enough variety to keep things engaging, if at times it lacks incisiveness
    Read Review

  18. 6.5 |   Tone Deaf

    The degree to which you invest in the rhetoric will probably determine your enjoyment of The Plot Against Common Sense
    Read Review

  19. 6.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Best kept on the shelf and visited infrequently. It’s rewarding if given the occasional spin but tiresome if spun too often
    Read Review

  20. 6.0 |   Pitchfork

    It's a shame that Falkous is playing to the cheap seats on The Plot Against Common Sense, since, to paraphrase one of their best songs, we need Falkous more than he needs us
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Future Of The Left: The Plot Against Common Sense

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. sheena is a t-shirt salesman £0.99
  • 2. failed olympic bid £0.99
  • 3. beneath the waves an ocean £0.99
  • 4. cosmo's ladder £0.99
  • 5. city of exploded children £0.99
  • 6. goals in slow motion £0.99
  • 7. camp cappuccino £0.99
  • 8. polymers are forever £0.99
  • 9. robocop 4 - fuck off robocop £0.99
  • 10. sorry dad, i was late for the riots £0.99
  • 11. i am the least of your problems £0.99
  • 12. a guide to men £0.99
  • 13. anchor £0.99
  • 14. rubber animals £0.99
  • 15. notes on achieving orbit £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews