Albums to watch




A collection of remixes of tracks from the singer-songwriter's Biophilia LP, featuring the likes of These New Puritans, Death Grips, Matthew Herbert, Omar Souleyman

ADM rating[?]


One Little Indian
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 8.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    When Björk has to dole out her tracks to an eclectic army of remixers to sound even slightly normal - and in the process sounds stunning – her talent shows itself to be so big it’s almost hilarious
    Read Review

  2. 8.0 |   BBC

    Bastards’ crew turns in a commendably original 13 tracks
    Read Review

  3. 8.0 |   State

    Ultimately shows the versatility of Bjork’s voice as it plays host to a number of different styles without ever sounding out of place
    Read Review

  4. 8.0 |   Tone Deaf

    A fascinating companion-piece to Biophilia: a stunning prism through which to view a brilliant album
    Read Review

  5. 7.3 |   The AU Review

    These 13 songs affirm that Björk is an artist driven by constant reinvention - reinvention fostered both by herself and by her like-minded collaborators
    Read Review

  6. 7.0 |   DIY

    There are a number of genuinely interesting pieces here that make this a very worthwhile addition to Bjork’s discography
    Read Review

  7. 7.0 |   PopMatters

    As a package the album works better than could be expected. For a remix album, in fact, this is remarkably close to essential listening
    Read Review

  8. 7.0 |   All Music

    Diehards who have all of Biophilia's singles may not need this, but it's still a fine collection in its own right
    Read Review

  9. 7.0 |   Uncut

    Sounds like a new Björk album rather than a cursory add-on. Print edition only

  10. 7.0 |   The Digital Fix

    Bastards is not a radically different beast, although new sonic inflections brought to the pre-existing precision of beats, clicks, whirs and whistles means it is a commendable extension
    Read Review

  11. 7.0 |   Consequence Of Sound

    No matter how hard Björk works to change the structure of her songs, her soprano is unmistakable under any musical guise
    Read Review

  12. 7.0 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    Bastards is much more accessible than its parent. According to Bjork’s own press release on the matter, “the remixes gave the songs more beats; legs to dance on!”. As remix albums go, it’s quite good
    Read Review

  13. 6.0 |   Evening Standard

    As with most remix collections, it doesn’t hang together well
    Read Review

  14. 6.0 |   The Scotsman

    There are some predictable responses, replete with minimal glitchy pulse, chorus-effect synths and dubstep quake which don’t depart radically from Bjork’s style
    Read Review

  15. 5.2 |   Pitchfork

    Bastards does little to counteract the sensation that latter-day Björk records are more fulfilling to read about than listen to
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Björk: Bastards

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. Crystalline (Omar Souleyman Remix) £0.99
  • 2. Virus (Hudson Mohawke Peaches and Guacamol Remix) £0.99
  • 3. Sacrifice (Death Grips Remix) £0.99
  • 4. Sacrifice Reprise (Matthew Herbert's Pins and Needles Mix) £0.99
  • 5. Mutual Core (These New Puritans Remix featuring Solomon is. Song' ) £0.99
  • 6. Hollow (16-Bit Remix) £0.99
  • 7. Mutual Core (Matthew Herbert's Teutonic Plates Mix) £0.99
  • 8. Thunderbolt (Death Grips Remix) £0.99
  • 9. Dark Matter (Alva Noto Remodel) £0.99
  • 10. Thunderbolt (Omar Souleyman Remix) £0.99
  • 11. Solstice (Current Value Remix) £0.99
  • 12. Moon (The Slips Remix) £0.99
  • 13. Crystalline (Matthew Herbert Remix) £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews