Albums to watch


Ocean Colour Scene


Album number ten for the Birmingham britpop veterans

ADM rating[?]


Cooking Vinyl
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 8.0 |   God Is In The TV

    We’re probably never going to hear Ocean Colour Scene beat ‘Moseley Shoals’, but the vast majority of this record is certainly a return to form
    Read Review

  2. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    Painting just proves that Ocean Colour Scene is a band you can depend on to make some glorious and thoughtful music that only panders to its members’ joy of classic pop. Enjoy this record. It’s great
    Read Review

  3. 6.0 |   NME

    Now they're safely out of what passes for fashion, their retroisms sound more loving than offensive
    Read Review

  4. 6.0 |   The Irish Times

    They’re still as retro as ever, and they still have an unerring ear for a catchy, where-have-I-heard-that-before hook
    Read Review

  5. 5.0 |   music OMH

    As a whole, Painting is not a bad effort, with some nice tunes, though it’s all a bit dull and predictable: good brushwork but lacking inspiration
    Read Review

  6. 5.0 |   Sputnik Music (staff)

    There’s something for everyone, and OCS do well to cater to a crowd who are afraid of falling with the rest of us into the future
    Read Review

  7. 5.0 |   Uncut

    The Moseley mods continue to rehash the first two Traffic albums expertly. Print edition only

  8. 4.0 |   Q

    Lacking in originality or imagination. Print edition only

  9. 4.0 |   Mojo

    Print edition only

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Ocean Colour Scene: Painting

  • Download full album for just £7.49
  • 1. We Don’t Look in the Mirror £0.79
  • 2. Painting £0.79
  • 3. Goodbye Old Town £0.79
  • 4. Doodle Book £0.79
  • 5. If God Made Everyone £0.79
  • 6. Weekend £0.79
  • 7. Professor Perplexity £0.79
  • 8. George’s Tower £0.79
  • 9. I Don’t Want to Leave England £0.79
  • 10. The Winning Side £0.79
  • 11. Mistaken Identity £0.79
  • 12. The Union £0.79
  • 13. The New Torch Song £0.79
  • 14. Here Comes the Dawning Day £0.79
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews