Albums to watch


Biffy Clyro


Seventh album from the Scots alt.rock trio produced by Rich Costey (Sigur Rós, Frank Turner, Muse)

ADM rating[?]


Warner Bros
UK Release date
US Release date
  1. 8.0 |   Q

    This record is so lean that you can practically see its veins popping out. Print edition only

  2. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Brings a fresh twist to Biffy’s stop-start riffage. Print edition only

  3. 8.0 |   NME

    The whole feel of the album is fun, shackle-free, uninhibited, but still masterfully crafted
    Read Review

  4. 8.0 |   The Observer

    Though they’re now festival headliners, chart-toppers and X Factor cover material, it’s clear the fierce, weird and wonderful Biffy still have plenty of ambition
    Read Review

  5. 8.0 |   DIY

    An ambitious double album filled with reverb and distortion this it not, but if a new, playful kind of Biffy Clyro take your fancy, there’s more than enough of ‘Ellipsis’ to dive headfirst into
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   Evening Standard

    There’s a Muse-style grandiosity to everything Biffy Clyro do, but it is leavened by their love for a whistleable tune. They’re major players now
    Read Review

  7. 7.5 |   The 405

    Ellipsis has an air of Moving Pictures about it; an amalgamation of everything that came before it into a cohesive whole, with a couple of new bits added in. It's still Biffy, but it sounds a little new
    Read Review

  8. 7.5 |   The Line Of Best Fit

    Ellipsis is the band’s leanest record thus far. Everything from the guitar feedback, Simon Neil’s impassioned vocals and the understated synths and harmonies that lie beneath the rest of the instrumentation feel precisely crafted
    Read Review

  9. 7.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    You can’t help but feel that anyone expecting this to be a return to the approach of their first three albums is going to be disappointed
    Read Review

  10. 7.0 |   Uncut

    A rewarding evolution by a band that could easily coast on their rugged laurels. Print edition only

  11. 7.0 |   Gig Soup

    Despite its minor weaknesses, 'Ellipsis' is an album that fans can get their teeth into
    Read Review

  12. 6.0 |   No Ripcord

    Ellipsis shows that Biffy Clyro can still produce strong singles, but they fail to provide any real substance beyond them
    Read Review

  13. 6.0 |   The Independent

    Ellipsis finds Biffy Clyro reverting for the most part to the core blend of melody and heaviness that draws comparisons with Muse
    Read Review

  14. 6.0 |   The Music

    The boys roll out their best song first
    Read Review

  15. 5.8 |   Consequence Of Sound

    Clearly Biffy Clyro see themselves as strivers, a band that charges relentlessly forward. But at times, listeners might wonder if they’re headed in any interesting direction
    Read Review

  16. 5.5 |   Beardfood

    For the first time in history the Scottish accent doesn’t have any wondrous feelings attached to it, and that’s a sin in itself
    Read Review

  17. 5.0 |   Spectrum Culture

    Nothing on Ellipsis is striking in the way that Biffy Clyro songs so often have been in the past. Against their own standards, their latest just can’t stand on its own
    Read Review

  18. 4.0 |   The Irish Times

    Casual listeners will find the odd foot-tapper, but ardent fans looking for an excuse to mosh may be disappointed
    Read Review

  19. 4.0 |   The Guardian

    For the most part, there’s a distinct lack of joy, discovery and invention here
    Read Review

  20. 4.0 |   The Arts Desk

    As real rock, this isn't much more convincing than Justin Bieber in a leather jacket
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Watch it

Roll over video for more options

Hear it

Preview & download it

Biffy Clyro: Ellipsis

  • Download full album for just £12.49
  • 1. Wolves of Winter £0.99
  • 2. Friends and Enemies £0.99
  • 3. Animal Style £0.99
  • 4. Re-arrange £0.99
  • 5. Herex £0.99
  • 6. Medicine £0.99
  • 7. Flammable £0.99
  • 8. On a Bang £0.99
  • 9. Small Wishes £0.99
  • 10. Howl £0.99
  • 11. People £0.99
  • 12. Don't, Won't, Can't N/A
  • 13. In the Name of the Wee Man N/A
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews