Albums to watch

Straight No Chaser

Mr Hudson

Straight No Chaser

Formerly Mr Hudson & the Library, the London act team up with Kanye West for a second album of alternative R&B, electro and hip hop

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
  1. 8.0 |   Drowned In Sound

    It’s a talent for smallness in spite of showy surroundings, an Englishness that’s as convincing as anything Jamie T, Mike Skinner or Lily Allen has produced, infiltrating the upper echelons of the American music establishment
    Read Review

  2. 7.0 |   The Fly

    The hooks, the glamour, bleating pleas and icy electronic beats are all there
    Read Review

  3. 6.0 |   Q

    Print edition only

  4. 6.0 |   Uncut

    Print edition only

  5. 6.0 |   The Guardian

    Supernova and new single White Lies bode well, showing what he can do with a tune and a computer, but West is forever adding clunky raps where they're not wanted
    Read Review

  6. 6.0 |   The Independent

    Much of Straight No Chaser is drenched with the auto-tune vocal gimmick so favoured by Kanye – which, given that Hudson's voice has a timbre akin to Chris Martin and Sting, may not be the shrewdest move.
    Read Review

  7. 6.0 |   The Irish Times

    At times West’s penchant for staccato beats and effects pushes several tracks into generic r’n’b territory.
    Read Review

  8. 4.0 |   music OMH

    The big beats and rich, synthetic arrangements are programmed to uplift, yet the songs themselves carry the opposite message, their troubled author picking over the remnants of a faded relationship
    Read Review

  9. 4.0 |   The List

    ...underwhelming little brother to West’s 808s and Heartbreak
    Read Review

  10. 2.0 |   NME

    Oh, did someone mention Auto-Tune? Because it’s not Hudson’s foghorn bellowings that are the real enemy on this record, it’s that motherfucking computer program
    Read Review

  11. 2.0 |   The Times

    Talentless men … tend just to do really dull things.
    Read Review

blog comments powered by Disqus

Hear it

Preview & download it

Mr Hudson: Straight No Chaser

  • Download full album for just £5.99
  • 1. Supernova £0.99
  • 2. White Lies £0.99
  • 3. Knew We Were Trouble £0.99
  • 4. Straight No Chaser £0.99
  • 5. Learning to Live £0.99
  • 6. Instant Messenger £0.99
  • 7. There Will Be Tears £0.99
  • 8. Stiff Upper Lip £0.99
  • 9. Central Park £0.99
  • 10. Anyone But Him £0.99
  • 11. Everything is Broken £0.99
  • 12. Lift Your Head £0.99
  • 13. Time £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews