Albums to watch




Dark, downbeat electronica and rock from the British production and remix maestros on their second album, with Mark Lanegan in attendance

ADM rating[?]


UK Release date
  1. 10.0 |   The Times

    The symbiotic union between Mark Lanegan and the UK production duo Soulsavers is fast becoming one of the most creatively fertile partnerships of the decade
    Read Review

  2. 9.0 |   music OMH

    While the two outer instrumentals are undeniably moving, this record is definitely Mark Lanegan's. There is no voice quite like his - and none that leaves the same impact.
    Read Review

  3. 8.0 |   PopMatters

    Lanegan’s presence has taken their brooding, dark blend of electronica and grounded it firmly in a dark patch of earth.
    Read Review

  4. 8.0 |   Scotland on Sunday

    Mean, moody and well worth getting to know.
    Read Review

  5. 8.0 |   The Quietus

    The real moment of triumph is the superb re-imagining of former Byrd Gene Clark's 'Some Misunderstanding'. Replacing the cosmic American flavourings of the original with a more earth-bound and gritty sensibility, only the hardest of hearts can remain unmoved when Lanegan intones, “We all need a fix at a time like this/But doesn't it feel good to stay alive”
    Read Review

  6. 8.0 |   Q

    Print edition only

  7. 8.0 |   NME

    It’s a record that speaks of dissonance and despondency and as such is instantaneously engrossing and comforting
    Read Review

  8. 8.0 |   Clash

    It was difficult to see to where Soulsavers could take their brand of bruised blues and electronic gospel. In truth, they haven't wandered too much further down that desert path with ‘Broken’, but have delivered a follow-up that expands on what worked well last time around
    Read Review

  9. 8.0 |   Mojo

    Print edition only

  10. 6.3 |   Pitchfork

    Too often its soundtrack atmosphere is too thick, its arrangements as obvious as a painted backdrop
    Read Review

  11. 6.0 |   Evening Standard

    It's not quite the major work it purports to be, but certainly has its moments
    Read Review

  12. 6.0 |   Uncut

    Print edition only

blog comments powered by Disqus

Hear it

Preview & download it

Soulsavers: Broken

  • Download full album for just £7.99
  • 1. The Seventh Proof £0.99
  • 2. Death Bells £0.99
  • 3. Unbalanced Pieces £0.99
  • 4. You Will Miss Me When I Burn £0.99
  • 5. Some Misunderstanding £0.99
  • 6. All The Way Down £0.99
  • 7. Shadows Fall £0.99
  • 8. Can't Catch The Train £0.99
  • 9. Pharaoh's Chariot £0.99
  • 10. Praying Ground £0.99
  • 11. Rolling Sky £0.99
  • 12. Wise Blood £0.99
  • 13. By My Side £0.99
  • Service provided by 7Digital

Latest Reviews

More reviews